Crayon Candle Fun

Today it reached 98 degrees outside. Yes 98. I personally like that temperature. My significant other on the other hand will beg to differ. To be it’s tank top and short weather. He considers that 70 degrees when I’m still in jeans and a T-shirt. With a hot day like today where the sun is out, I figured it would be perfect to do something I found on Pinterest that I instantly fell in love with: Crayon Candle Idea.

20130610_110932

This project only requires four things:

  • Crayons
  • Glass jar
  • Candle Wick (sold at Micheal’s)
  • Tin Foil

Take those broken crayons and ones that are so small that no one would ever use them and recycle them for this. For my candle I chose to do blue and green crayons with a bit of white mixed into it. Make sure you peel off the paper if there is any left on them. If my DS was older I would have enlisted him to peel off the paper. I let him place the crayons inside the glass jar. He thought it was more fun to fill it up with crayons and dump it out then to fill it. Maybe this wasn’t the best project to do with him. Once we finally filled it up and kept it filled up we placed it outside on a table and let the sun work it’s magic.

20130610_111813

I added the tin foil underneath to help speed up the process and tied the wick to pencil so that it would get lost in the sea of green and blue. I let it sit for a good three hours out in the sun and after those three hours it was melted into a crayon candle.

20130610_154554

YAY! Project number one done! Probably do it again in a few summers when DS and DD are older and learning about solar power and having fun science projects. Too young to get it now. DS was more into squirting himself with a squirt bottle then anything else. It is suppose to be high 90’s all this week. Maybe tomorrow we will do something based off of water fun. Not sure yet. Although I wouldn’t mind just sitting at the lake for the day. That sounds divine.

3 thoughts on “Crayon Candle Fun

Leave a comment